You want a diary?

contact me - why?

Leave me a note

Old, boring entries

Newest, boring entry

Stick Cricket - more addictive than heroin (Sunday, Apr. 03, 2005)

So it's the day before I start my new job, and it's only now that it dawns on me that I don't *actually* know what my new job is! I know this sounds strange but the whole interview process was a bit strange.

Right now, I'm kind of hoping that I'll get there and they'll hand me a mop and a bucket and tell me to start cleaning the corridors. OK, it's not what I expect but at least I reckon I could do that no problem. Alternatively, I could get there and they might say 'welcome Dr Curtis' - then it's big trouble.

So did I make the best use of my time off between jobs? Did I, say, learn a new musical instrument? Nah...Did I spend some 'quality time with the wife and kids'? Well yes, and er, no. So what did I do for all that time? Did I play a fiendishly addictive game on the internet day and night until my eyes started to bleed? And was this ridiculous game called 'Stick Cricket'? Yep, you got it. What a complete waste of time. And I still haven't won a game. I've even started having dreams where I become a stick cricketer 'Tron' style (for those of you that remember Tron) and hit six sixes off stick bowler Kapil Dev. Next time I change jobs I've promised myself to make more use of the time, and that might be sooner rather than later....

previous tale of woe - next tale of woe

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries recommend my diary to a friend you hate Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!