You want a diary?

contact me - why?

Leave me a note

Old, boring entries

Newest, boring entry

Breaking the Law (Wednesday, Sept. 07, 2005)

Based on my straw poll of a few people, at least 80% of you don't know the definition of a dual-carriageway. I am (or was) unfortunately part of that 80%, and hence got a speeding fine on a recent trip to Devon. More unfortunately however was my insistence that I had not broken the law and the ensuing interaction with the police via a series of letters, and a subsequent additional charge being lumped on top of my �60 fine.

So anyway, a few days after returning from my holiday to Devon, a letter arrives from the Wiltshire constabulary saying that I was caught by a speed camera on a section of the A303. I vaguely remember the speed camera but also recall it being two lanes up a hill in a delimited zone - therefore speed limit of 70mph. I also recall from a good police friend of mine that they only prosecute if you are in excess of 10% + 2mph over the speed limit, e.g. 79mph in a 70mph limit, and I had been doing 74mph.

Man what a boring post this is! So me being me, I reply contesting the claim, stating that it must have been someone over-taking me that triggered the camera. I was then sent the offending image - a completely empty road with just a single car (mine) on the road. Not only that, you could also clearly see two hands waving from the back seat of the car - I now remember passing the camera and telling the children to "wave for the camera" not expecting it to be triggered. After searching the internet I then found out that a "dual carriageway has to have a central reservation" and that the speed limit on my stretch of road was actually 60mph not 70mph despite having 2 lanes.

Due to contesting the claim and in the opinion of the Wiltshire police "taking the piss" I now have an additional charge for contesting the charge without having a good case, I even sent them a copy of the highway code asking them to highlight the bit where it defines a dual carriageway which I couldn't find anywhere. Returned highlighted on page 2 - what a wally....

In other news, child number 3 is on the way, and as a result my good wife is sleeping 23 hours in every 24 which makes for good evening conversation. I had considered having the snip, and was looking forward to "trying" for ever, but now that the 3rd is on the way I'm kind of looking forward to it - the sleepless nights, sick stained shirts, stench of talcum powder throughout the house, yeah, can't wait...

previous tale of woe - next tale of woe

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries recommend my diary to a friend you hate Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!